‘AITSL Standards Forum’ Day 8 – Standard 7.4

Welcome to Day 8 of the online forum. Today we are asking participants to focus on AITSL Standard 7.4

AITSL Standard 7.4

Image: AITSL Standards

Using the above information and the AITSL Standards: teacher librarian practice document (available from the ALIA Schools website or Google Drive), please reflect on how the teacher librarian can meet that part of the Standard.

The next step is to comment or provide feedback. We are keen to learn how teacher librarians gather their evidence and how the Standards are used at your school.

To post a comment, scroll down to the bottom of the page and type your response into the box underneath ‘Leave a Reply’, then click the ‘Post Comment’ button that will appear after you start typing in the box. Sometimes comments will not automatically appear as a moderator needs to approve the first comment for each new respondent. Our moderator will check in throughout the day to approve comments.

We look forward to your active participation as we gain a nationwide perspective on how the Standards are being used in our schools.

5 thoughts on “‘AITSL Standards Forum’ Day 8 – Standard 7.4

  1. For many of us, I think this will be a very easy standard to achieve. The value that I have received over the years from being involved in network user groups, LMS user groups and Association groups has been exceptional. We belong to a profession that is so willing to share wisdom, techniques, skills and information and so, for myself, this impels me to give back to my colleagues as much as I can within my capabilities. Participation such as offering to take on a Committee position, attending PD sessions organised by Associations, attending network meetings, writing articles for professional journals, leading sessions at network meetings or conferences are all ways that we can meet this standard. Connecting with colleagues through listservs and social media gives us an added dimension to the meaning of networking these days and we are so lucky that overseas colleagues are so willing to share their expertise.

  2. I agree with Jill that this should be an easy standard for us to achieve and collect evidence to prove it.

    I engage with professional teaching networks and broader communities in a variety of ways. I am a personal member of ALIA and an institutional member of SLAV and ASLA. I try to attend at least a few conferences a year facilitated by a variety of groups or organisations to keep up to date with developments in the teacher librarianship field.

    I keep track of my PD attendance via our online school PD system and write a reflection following each event that I can refer back to and discuss with my reviewer. I sometimes write up a summary of the event (depending on what was covered) and circulate it to the other staff in our school library and other stakeholders in the school where relevant.

    I am also increasingly following a variety of peers via social media platforms as so much is being shared this way now (and a lot of it is free!). This informal learning is often the most valuable to me on a practical day to day level.

  3. I agree Anna, blogs such as this can be an invaluable way of engaging with networks and peers because it can be done in your own time, in short grabs in a busy day. Reading professional journals, not just library focussed is valuable for ideas too. I like the Curriculum and Leadership Journal which I also receive through an email alert. Too make it easier I receive TLChat on my email each day from Paper.li too.

  4. Working in a school library can be quite isolating at times and being an active member of relevant professional associations allows me the opportunity to network with other teacher librarians and school library professionals. I am able to learn from my peers, discuss issues that arise in a school library and just have the chance to debrief or share what is happening at the coalface without having to worry about excessive explanations because my peers just get it. I am a bit old fashion and enjoy the face to face connections but I can certainly appreciate the benefits of social networking. Being active in professional associations has ensured longevity in my role as a teacher librarian.

  5. I agree with Anne that the interaction we have with our colleagues is important when we are a single TL, because no matter how closely we work with staff in our own school, our role is so different that there is often noone else there who actually even understands the quesions / dilemmas we have. I have a very active network which meets once a term with a specific agenda, membership of ASLA, SLAQ and ALIA provides seminar and workshop opportunities, ASCD journals and online courses and a PLN incorporating Twitter feeds, blogs and several curation tools help me to keep current and involved. I have organised and hosted several workshops here at school as well as presented at various seminars for networks and professional associations. It is very exciting to keep up with what others are doing and adds enthusiasm and renewal for the job here.

Leave a Reply

