‘An app a day’ – Day 6 – Goodreads

An app a day – Day 6: Goodreads

app goodreads

Cost: Free

Suggested user group: Staff

About the app: Goodreads is a social networking site for readers that allows you to keep track of the books you have read, write reviews, join discussion groups and much more. The app has a barcode scanner option that allows you to scan the ISBN and add the
title to your ‘to-read’ list.

Not all schools are comfortable with recommending the site to students as the content cannot be restricted. We have therefore chosen to suggest this app for staff use however, it could also be used by students depending on the policy at your school. You can visit the website here: http://www.goodreads.com/

What to do now:

  • Download the appropriate app for your device from the links below (If you are reading this post on your device, tapping the link will redirect you to the Apple App Store/Google Play Store)
  • Open the app (and sign up if required)
  • Spend a bit of time today experimenting with the app to get used to how it works

Apple app: https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/goodreads/id355833469?mt=8

Android app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.goodreads&hl=en

What to do later today:

Now that you have had experiences with the app, it is time to share your thoughts and ideas with your colleagues about how the app can be useful to teachers and/or students. Feel free to express your opinions by clicking on ‘LEAVE A COMMENT’ at the bottom of this post and filling in the required fields in the pop up box. Please note: posting comments allows you to claim participation towards your PD hours.

The following are some suggested comment starters but feel free to discuss anything relevant beyond this:

  • How could you use this app to assist yourself in your personal work duties?
  • How could you use this app with students?
  • If you are already using this app, how have you been using it yourself/with students?
  • Do you have any alternative apps that fulfil the same purpose that you would recommend? Is one app preferable to use?
  • What are your general thoughts about the usability of this app?

Hope you all enjoy experimenting with this app today and we look forward to reading your comments!

7 thoughts on “‘An app a day’ – Day 6 – Goodreads

  1. I already use and love this app. I use it has a way of keeping track of the books I have read. I find I can’t always remember if I have read a book. Use it too see what is new, what people are suggesting. Helps with our selection for our library.
    One of the best apps I have on my iPad. Usability is great also, like that you can scan a books ISBN. Haven’t used it with students yet. We are starting with their magazine which could them lead onto them using the app.

  2. This looks like a great app. I can see this being very useful to both staff and students and, in particular, with our Wide Reading classes.

  3. I have been using the goodreads website for years. It is also heavily used by staff and students. The suggestions for books like…. are invaluable. I also use the reviews and recommendations for library purchases. I hadn’t thought about an app, but now that I have it, I’ll be using it rather than the desktop. Students are always more receptive to title if it is suggested by someone else.Wide reading is always difficult, especially when my aim is to match a specific student with a specific book. Goodreads certainly helps with that

  4. After loading the app, I clicked on the “Updates” tab at the base of the page. I saw a list of book recommendations. I read one about Hana’s Suitcase that was brief and written by a student. Recommendations available through this app could be helpful to our students when considering whether to read Hana’s Suitcase / another book.
    The next tab I clicked on was “Search”. I then conducted a search of “Hana’s Suitcase and reached many other reviews – by students and adults. The reviewers had also provided ratings (in terms of stars) of the story. Most people had rated the story four or five out of five possible stars.
    Another tab that could be of interest to students is the Explore one at the base of the page. Pupils may enjoy exploring Best Books of the Decade: 2000s. The students could also add to this list. Further within the Explore area is a section entitled “What to Read Next”.This may assist students in selecting other books they find engaging.
    This app is excellent because it allows students to hear from (and contribute to) others around the world.

  5. I have also been using GoodReads for several years now. I like librarything.com too but the fantastic goodreads app makes it my preferred option. I use the groups feature with both my English classes and our lunchtime book club. The students find it very easy to use and like that they can get recommendations from their classmates. I have heard that goodreads was recently purchased by Amazon. I hope this does not mean that it will become a paid service as that will likely mean the end of schools being able to use it.

  6. I already had the app downloaded although hadn’t used it much. I also have used Library Thing (although no app). You can also subscribe to a twitter feed from Goodreads which keeps you up to date with the latest “goodread”. Our LMS allows for book reviews internally and to view google books reviews which we promote amongst our students however I liked the idea of using Goodreads with a book club etc. as mentioned I one of the other posts. Will have to investigate this app more.

  7. I’m currently studying to be a librarian and this app/website has come up in discussions so I was glad to see it here. I like the idea of social reading; I think it could be a way to encourage participation in libraries in an age when we are all about online social networking.

Leave a Reply

